The Sysops Log!

"The random musings of a bemused Sysop"


  • Saturday 31st May
    Applied registration to Dnews
  • Thusday 29th May
    Start upgrading the Linux PCs to RedHat 4.2
  • Wednesday 28th May
    Added Fido echo's to the news server. 837 echo's direct from USA.
  • Tuesday 27nd May
    Added the NetObjects Fusion newsgroups to our news server.
  • Saturday 24nd May
    Tracked and fixed (hopefully) a bug that caused PPP logins to not get reminders .
    Tracked a problem that caused this log to not display if it got too long.
    Telstra fixed the line problem.
  • Friday 23nd May
    Wrote a little script to check and reset the proxy.
    Occasionally it was losing sight of it's parent cache server.
  • Thusday 22nd May
    Upgraded the Proxy server - more RAM and more speed.
    Telstra lost 2 lines (3&4).
  • Saturday 17th May
    Great network Quake game, a good time had by all.
    Reset MajorMud and upgraded to version i.
  • Thusday 15th May
    More adjustments to the news server to improve performance.
  • Tuesday 13th May
    Start preparing to twin 2 proxy servers via ISDN link.
  • Saturday 10th May
    Notified at 2:00am of Internet outages to last until lunch time.
    Upgrade Vircom 10 2.10-14.
    Re-Indexed the main Library *.dat files - took hours.
    Setup a bypass proxy to Perth to maintain some WWW traffic until the main feed was back.
  • Friday 9th May
    Upgraded the file library server, it really flies now.
    Started rebuilding the file Libraries. Create all the areas and start loading t he files that have collected in the last week.
    Set up to create a web page of stats then delete the log nightly.
  • Monday 4th May
    Finally nailed Telstra, the missing IP block was due to a typo by them - fixed.
  • Saturday 3rd May
    Traced problem to a missing block of 255 IP numbers being routed to Queensland instead of Ace.
  • Friday 2nd May
    Internet slightly erratic in some areas, very weird.
  • Thursday 1st May
    Upgraded the backup server.
    The 4Gb SCSI file library drive is sick. Taken off-line.
    Backup CD server re-instated.
  • Wednesday 30th April
    Spent a lot of time experimenting and tuning the News server settings.
  • Tuesday 27th April
    Set up a seperate WB-Pro icon for Win 3.1x users.
  • Monday 28th April
    Upgraded the proxy to 1.10
  • Saturday 26th April
    Upgraded the proxy to 1.91
    This caused quite a few hassles and made a 30 minute job take many hours.

Current
January 97
February 97
March 97
April 97
May 97
June 97
July 97
August 97
September 97
October 97
November 97
December 97

This page has been hit 11,722 times!
Back to the Ace homepage!